In a short period of time, the Chinese video social networking application TikTok succeeded in attracting the attention of many users, until it became the most used site during the past year, outperforming the most popular search engine Google, and in this context, the sources indicate that the platform tested a wonderful feature borrowed from Twitter.
TechCrunch notes that TikTok has announced that a new button is being tested on the publicly available version of the app with a small number of users at the moment. However, it has already attracted a lot of attention on Twitter with users posting screenshots of the new feature. Some people seem to think it’s a new feature that everyone can access, but that’s not the case yet, we understand.
A TikTok spokesperson told TechCrunch, “We’re always thinking of new ways to bring value to our community and enrich the TikTok experience. Right now, we’re experimenting with a new way for people to share the TikTok videos they enjoy.”
The site noted that if you have access to the Repost button, you will be able to use it when browsing the For You feed. When you press the button on a video you want to promote, TikTok informs you that the video will be visible to your friends. The app also prompts you to share a few words about why you’re reposting the video. They do not appear as comments on the video, but are reported directly in the video itself above the creator’s name and video description. Here, you will see the friends who have reposted the content and you can click on the “Repost” label to read their comments in a small popup.
If you change your mind about the repost, you can click on the post menu and then on “Remove Repost” to undo the repost. This will delete the message you added, as well as your TikTok notes.